Tías – beaches and entertainment

The municipality of Tías is the biggest holiday center on the island of Lanzarote. In the seaside town of Puerto del Carmen, most of the island’s hotels and apartment complexes are located, along with long sandy beaches such as Playa Grande, Matagorda and Playa de los Pocillos. The well-eighteen-kilometer beach promenade of the resort, which runs from the old town harbour to Matagorda airport, invites you to stroll and shop, and visitors will find numerous restaurants here. Over 10,000 inhabitants live in Puerto del Carmen and the foreigner share is with almost 40 percent the highest of the island.

Slightly above the coast lies the town of Tías, home of the municipal administration and the second village in the municipality of Tías, with more than 5000 inhabitants. Here, the “normal life” takes place off the beaten track. A theater, the Ermita de San Antonio exhibition hall, as well as spacious sports facilities complete the offer of Tías.

There is a wide range of recreational facilities in the Tías community area, including a new 18-hole golf course, Rancho Texas theme park with exotic animals and shows, and a great track. In addition, along the coast you will find numerous offers for water sports and fun such as jet skiing, paragliding, diving or sailing. In addition to Tías and Puerto del Carmen, the villages, La Asomada, Masdache, Conil and Vega de Tegoyo belong to the municipality of Tías.

More than 28,000 touristic accommodations make the municipality the most important holiday center in Lanzarotes. In Puerto del Carmen, tourists will find everything they need for their holidays: sea, beaches, shops, restaurants and a unique spring climate. In the Centro Atlantico and the old port, the night owls meet and every year in February a huge carnival parade takes place on the Avenida de las Playas and for four days the locals and tourists celebrate together in the most colorful disguises.

In recent months, the municipality has begun with an intensive reconstruction of the beach road and the harbour of Puerto del Carmen, which has modernized the entire resort and banished the traffic from the tourist area. After 50 years an important step to secure the touristic future of the municipality of Tías.

Leave a Reply

Tías – Strände und Unterhaltung

Die Gemeinde Tías ist das größte Urlaubszentrum der Insel Lanzarote. Im Strandort Puerto del Carmen befinden sich die meisten Hotels und Apartmentanlagen der Insel und lang gestreckte Sandstrände wie der Playa Grande, Matagorda und der Playa de los Pocillos. Die gut acht Kilometer lange Strandstraße des Urlaubsorts, die sich vom alten Hafen bis nach Matagorda in Flughafennähe zieht, lädt zum Spazieren und Shoppen ein und die Besucher finden hier zahlreiche Restaurants. Über 10.000 Einwohner leben in Puerto del Carmen und der Ausländeranteil ist mit knapp 40 Prozent der höchste der Insel.

Etwas oberhalb der Küste liegt der Ort Tías, Sitz der Gemeindeverwaltung und mit über 5000 Einwohnern der zweitgrößte Ort der Gemeinde Tías. Hier spielt sich das „normale Leben“ abseits des Tourismus ab. Ein Theater, der Ausstellungssaal Ermita de San Antonio sowie großzügige Sporteinrichtungen runden das Angebot des Ortes Tías ab.

Im Gemeindegebiet von Tías befinden sich eine große Vielfalt an Freizeiteinrichtungen wie ein neuer 18-Loch Golfplatz, der Freizeitpark Rancho Texas mit exotischen Tieren und Shows, sowie eine große Kartbahn. Zusätzlich findet man entlang der Küste zahlreiche Angebote für Wassersport und Spaß wie Wasserscooter, Gleitschirmfliegen, Tauchen oder Segeln. Neben Tías und Puerto del Carmen gehören auch die Orte Macher, La Asomada, Masdache, Conil und Vega de Tegoyo zur Gemeinde Tías.

Über 28.000 touristische Unterkünfte machen die Gemeinde zum wichtigsten Urlaubszentrum Lanzarotes. In Puerto del Carmen finden die Touristen alles was sie für ihren Urlaub wünschen: Meer, Strände, Geschäfte, Restaurants und ein einmaliges frühlingshaftes Klima. Im Centro Atlantico und am alten Hafen treffen sich die Nachtschwärmer und jedes Jahr im Februar findet auf der Avenida de las Playas ein riesiger Karnevalsumzug statt und über vier Tage lang feiern Einheimische und Touristen gemeinsam in den buntesten Verkleidungen.

In den letzten Monaten hat die Gemeinde mit einer intensiven Umgestaltung der Strandstraße und des Hafens von Puerto del Carmen begonnen, welche den gesamten Urlaubsort modernisiert und den Automobilverkehr aus der touristischen Zone verbannt. Nach 40 Jahren ein wichtiger Schritt um die touristische Zukunft der Gemeinde Tías zu sichern.

Schreibe einen Kommentar