The Lanzarote Aviation Museum

Since 2006 the Lanzarote Aviation Museum has been open to the public in the premises of the first passenger terminal of the island’s airport. A good ten years of planning have been invested in the ambitious project, which offers an excellent insight into the history of the island.

The gate to the world

Since the airport is the most important gateway to the world, the history of aviation in Lanzarote is also a reflection of the development of the island. In addition, the Lanzarote Aviation Museum is the first and only museum in Spain that is exclusively dedicated to an airport.

The museum has ten different exhibition rooms, each dealing with a different aspect of aviation. Among other things, there are numerous photographs of the beginnings of aviation in the Canary Islands and Lanzarote, audio-visual projections present personal stories of former airport employees or extremely interesting aerial photos of the island from the 1930s.

Lanzarote Aviation Museum exhibition
Exhibition

In the former tower you can marvel the ancient devices or visit the meteorological station next door. Data and anecdotes from the airport’s history can also be accessed on various computers. A very special gem, however, is a mural that César Manrique made in 1953 for the first terminal. The little-known work of art summarizes the entire history and culture of Lanzarote.

tower airport museum Lanzarote
the old control center in the tower

In addition to the large amount of information, the actual building, which was in operation from 1946 to 1970, is also worth visiting. Together with the photographs on display, the small terminal gives you a sense of how barren and simple the island was until well into the 20th century.

Opening times of the Lanzarote Aviation Museum

NOTE: Due to the current Covid19 rules, the museum will remain closed until further notice

To visit the Aviation Museum Lanzarote, you need to register by telephone (928-84 63 65). Among other things, guided group tours are also possible, according to the museum management also in German and English.

The museum is easy to find by driving towards the main terminal on the airport grounds. On the right-hand side a small street turns, a sign “Museo” shows the way. The museum is located in the municipality of San Bartolomé.

Leave a Reply

Das Luftfahrtmuseum Lanzarote

Seit 2006 ist in den Räumlichkeiten des ersten Passagierterminals des Flughafens der Insel das Luftfahrtmuseum Lanzarote für das Publikum geöffnet. Gut zehn Jahre Planung wurden in das ambitionierte Projekt investiert, welches einen hervorragenden Einblick in die Geschichte der Insel bietet.

Das Tor zur Welt

Da der Flughafen das wichtigste Tor zur Welt bedeutet, ist die Geschichte der Luftfahrt auf Lanzarote gleichzeitig ein Abbild der Entwicklung der Insel. Außerdem ist das Luftfahrtmuseum Lanzarote das erste und einzige Museum in ganz Spanien, welches sich ausschließlich einem Flughafen widmet.

Das Museum verfügt über zehn verschiedene Ausstellungsräume, die sich jeweils mit einem anderen Aspekt der Luftfahrt befassen. Unter anderem gibt es zahlreiche Fotografien zu den Anfängen der Luftfahrt auf den Kanaren und auf Lanzarote, audiovisuelle Projektionen präsentieren persönliche Geschichten früherer Flughafenmitarbeiter oder überaus interessante Luftaufnahmen der Insel aus den 30er Jahren.

Ausstellung im Flughafenmuseum
Ausstellung

Im ehemaligen Tower kann man das altertümliche Gerät bestaunen oder nebenan die meteorologische Station besuchen. Auf verschiedenen Computern kann man außerdem Daten und Anekdoten der Flughafengeschichte abrufen. Ein ganz besonderes Schmuckstück ist jedoch ein Wandbild, welches César Manrique 1953 für das erste Terminal anfertigte. Das kaum bekannte Kunstwerk fasst die komplette Geschichte und Kultur Lanzarotes zusammen.

Tower Luftfahrtmuseum Lanzarote
die alte Schaltzentrale im Tower

Neben den zahlreichen Informationen ist auch das eigentliche Bauwerk, welches von 1946 bis 1970 in Betrieb war, sehenswert. Gemeinsam mit den ausgestellten Fotografien bekommt man in dem kleinen Terminal ein Gespür dafür, wie karg und einfach die Insel bis tief ins 20. Jahrhundert hinein war.

Öffnungszeiten Luftfahrtmuseum Lanzarote

HINWEIS: Aufgrund der aktuellen Covid19-Regeln bleibt das Museum bis auf weiteres geschlossen

Um das Luftfahrtmuseum Lanzarote zu besuchen ist eine telefonische Anmeldung (unter 928-84 63 65) notwendig. Unter anderem sind auch geführte Gruppenbesichtigungen möglich, laut Museumsleitung auch in deutscher und englischer Sprache.

Das Museum findet man leicht, wenn man auf dem Flughafengelände in Richtung Hauptterminal fährt. Auf der rechten Seite biegt eine kleine Straße ab, ein Schild „Museo“ weist den Weg. Das Museum liegt in der Gemeinde San Bartolomé.

Webseite des Luftfahrtmuseum Lanzarote/Aena

Schreibe einen Kommentar