Tinajo – Agriculture and volcanoes

The municipality of Tinajo is located in the north-western part of Lanzarote and is the third biggest municipality on the island after Teguise and Yaiza. Only 5580 people live here and over 60 per cent of the area is protected. Big parts of the volcanic park Timanfaya are located in Tinajo. Today, Tinajo is the center of vegetable agriculture on the island and you will find large fields where potatoes, onions, pumpkins and also wine are cultivated. Every Sunday morning, a market is held in Mancha Blanca, where you can taste and buy the freshest products of the island. To the municipality of Tinajo belong the villages of Tinajo, Mancha Blanca, La Santa, La Vegueta and El Cuchillo, small villages which are quiet and where you can get to know the island from its most original side.

The only touristic point in the municipality of Tinajo is in the village of La Santa, where you find a large hotel complex, completely dedicated to sport. Here top-class athletes from all over Europe come to prepare themselves and from here the annual international Ironman Lanzarote competition is organized. Near the Club La Santa there is a small secluded lagoon, which is used by local people especially on the weekends for swimming and having barbecues.

Every year in mid September the municipality of Tinajo becomes the center of the island. During the festivities in honor to the Virgen de los Dolores, the inhabitants of the entire island pilgrim to the village of Mancha Blanca and celebrate with music, fairs and fairgrounds the largest folkloric festival on Lanzarote. According to legend, the Virgen de los Dolores stopped the volcanic flood directly in front of the local church, causing the end of the devastating eruptions in the 18th century. At the same time as the folk festival, a large arts and crafts trade fair will be held in the municipality of Tinajo.

Among the numerous surfers on the island Tinajo is considered an excellent surfing area. While the beginners are practicing at Famara Beach, the pros are drawn to the dangerous coast of La Santa, where the strong surf provides the best waves. With the Timanfaya National Park, which stretches to the village of Yaiza, and the surrounding volcanoes, the municipality of Tinajo is also a great opportunity to get to know the volcanic side of Lanzarote. Walks through the wild, moonlike landscape are always unique and unforgettable.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tinajo – Landwirtschaft und Vulkane

Die Gemeinde Tinajo liegt im nordwestlichen Teil Lanzarotes und ist nach Teguise und Yaiza die drittgrößte Gemeinde der Insel. Lediglich 5580 Personen leben hier und über 60 Prozent der Fläche stehen unter Naturschutz. Ein Großteil des Vulkanparks Timanfaya liegt in Tinajo. Heute ist Tinajo das Zentrum des Gemüseanbaus der Insel und man findet große Felder auf denen Kartoffeln, Zwiebeln, Kürbisse und auch Wein angebaut werden. Jeden Sonntagvormittag wird im Ort Mancha Blanca ein Markt durchgeführt, bei dem man die frischesten Produkte der Insel probieren und kaufen kann. Zur Gemeinde Tinajo gehören die Ortschaften Tinajo, Mancha Blanca, La Santa, La Vegueta und El Cuchillo, kleine Orte in denen es ruhig zugeht und in denen man die Insel noch von ihrer ursprünglichsten Seite kennen lernen kann.

Der einzige touristische Bezugspunkt der Gemeinde Tinajo liegt im Ort La Santa in dem ein großer Hotelkomplex liegt, der sich komplett dem Sport verschrieben hat. Hier trainieren Spitzenathleten aus ganz Europa und von hier aus wird auch der jährliche internationale Ironman Wettbewerb organisiert. In der Nähe des Club La Santa findet sich eine kleine abgeschieden Lagune, die von den Einheimischen besonders an den Wochenenden zum Baden und Grillen genutzt wird.

Jedes Jahr Mitte September wird die Gemeinde Tinajo zum Zentrum der Insel. Im Rahmen der Feierlichkeiten zu Ehren der Virgen de los Dolores pilgern die Einwohner der gesamten Insel zum Ort Mancha Blanca und feiern dort mit Musik, Messen und Kirmes das größte Volksfest Lanzarotes. Der Legende zufolge hat die Virgen de los Dolores die Vulkanmassen direkt vor der Ortskirche gestoppt und damit das Ende der verheerenden Eruptionen im 18. Jahrhundert bewirkt. Zeitgleich zum Volksfest wird auch eine große Kunsthandwerksmesse in der Gemeinde Tinajo veranstaltet.

Unter den zahlreichen Surfern der Insel gilt Tinajo als hervorragendes Surfgebiet. Während sich die Anfänger am Strand von Famara üben zieht es die Profis an die gefährliche Küste von La Santa, an der die starke Brandung für die besten Wellen sorgt. Mit dem Nationalpark Timanfaya, der sich bis in die Gemeinde Yaiza zieht, und dem umliegenden Vulkangebiet findet man in der Gemeinde auch ausgiebig Gelegenheit, die vulkanische Seite Lanzarotes kennen zu lernen. Spaziergänge durch die wilde, mondähnliche Landschaft sind einmalige und unvergessliche Ergebnisse.

Schreibe einen Kommentar