Teguise – the historic center

The municipality of Teguise occupies the largest area of ​​the seven municipalities of the island of Lanzarote and comprises, in addition to the former capital, Teguise the villages of Caleta de Famara, Tahiche, the tourist resort of Costa Teguise, Nazareth, Soo, Guatiza and even the small island group Chinijo around La Graciosa. Currently, 17,688 inhabitants live in the municipality, and an average of 11,000 tourists a month.

In 1852 Teguise was replaced as capital of Lanzarote by Arrecife. Today, the city is one of the most beautiful historical places on the island. The very popular Sunday market transforms the otherwise quiet place every weekend into the Mecca of tourists and locals. Around the Church of San Miguel and the Plaza de la Constitución, you can browse through countless stands and experience the unique market atmosphere.

Most of the town’s visitors are accommodated in the coastal town of Costa Teguise. There are numerous sandy beaches, a large number of hotels and apartments and other tourist facilities such as a golf course and a water park. César Manrique designed parts of the island’s first 5-star hotel in Costa Teguise and created the central Pueblo Marinero square. An important international windsurf cup is held every year in Costa Teguise.

Caleta de Famara with its wide sand beach, which makes the municipality the meeting point for surfer, is particularly spectacular and worth seeing. From the Famara beach you also have a great view of the island of La Graciosa, which can only be reached by boat from the north, but still belongs to the municipality of Teguise. At La Graciosa time seems to have stood still and beside great beaches you can enjoy pure peace: the car traffic is limited and the few streets are only sandpits.

In former times, the former capital was the goal of several pirate attacks and to protect the inhabitants was built on the nearby volcano Guanapay in the 16th century the Castillo de Santa Bárbara. Today, the fortress houses an interesting pirate museum.

The Convento de Santo Domingo, dating back to 1698, the Palacio Spinola (18th century), the seat of an important family right in the center, and, of course, the San Miguel church dedicated to Archangel Michael (1428) , The center of Teguise has been a protected monument since the 1980s.

Leave a Reply

Teguise – das historische Zentrum

Die Gemeinde Teguise nimmt die größte Fläche der sieben Gemeinden der Insel Lanzarote ein und umfasst neben der ehemaligen Hauptstadt Teguise u.a. die Orte Caleta de Famara, Tahiche, den Touristenort Costa Teguise, Nazaret, Soo, Guatiza und sogar die kleine Inselgruppe Chinijo rund um La Graciosa. Derzeit leben 17.688 Einwohner in der Gemeinde, hinzukommen durchschnittlich 11.000 Touristen pro Monat.

1852 wurde Teguise als Hauptstadt von Arrecife abgelöst und heute gilt die Stadt als einer der schönsten historischen Orte der Insel. Der überaus populäre Sonntagsmarkt verwandelt den ansonsten ruhigen Ort jedes Wochenende in das Mekka der Touristen und Einheimischen. Rund um die Kirche San Miguel und den Plaza de la Constitución kann man an zahllosen Ständen stöbern und die einmalige Marktatmosphäre auf sich wirken lassen.

Die meisten Besucher der Gemeinde sind im Küstenort Costa Teguise untergebracht. Hier finden sich zahlreiche Sandstrände, eine große Anzahl von Hotels und Apartmentanlagen und weitere touristische Infrastruktur wie ein Golfplatz oder ein Wasserpark. César Manrique entwarf in Costa Teguise Teile des ersten 5-Sterne Hotels der Insel und schuf den zentralen Platz Pueblo Marinero. Jährlich wird in Costa Teguise ein wichtiger internationaler Windsurfcup ausgetragen.

Ganz besonders spektakulär und sehenswert ist der Ort Caleta de Famara mit seinem riesigen Sandstrand, der die Gemeinde zum Mekka der Wellenreiter macht. Vom Famarastrand aus hat man auch einen tollen Blick auf die Insel La Graciosa, die per Boot nur vom Norden zu erreichen ist, aber trotzdem zur Gemeinde Teguise gehört. Auf La Graciosa scheint die Zeit stehen geblieben zu sein und neben ganz tolle Stränden kann man hier Ruhe pur genießen: der Autoverkehr ist weitestgehend eingeschränkt und die wenigen Straßen sind lediglich Sandpisten.

In früheren Zeiten wurde die damalige Hauptstadt Ziel mehrerer Piratenangriffe und zum Schutz der Einwohner wurde auf dem nahe liegenden Vulkan Guanapay im 16. Jahrhundert das Castillo de Santa Bárbara erbaut. Heute beherbergt die Festung ein interessantes Piratenmuseum.

Weitere historisch interessante Bauten im traditionellen Ortskern sind das Kloster Convento de Santo Domingo aus dem Jahr 1698, der Palacio Spinola (18 Jh.), ehemaliger Sitz einer bedeutenden Familie direkt im Zentrum, sowie natürlich die dem Erzengel Michael gewidmete Kirche San Miguel (1428). Die Innenstadt von Teguise steht seit den 80er Jahren unter Denkmalschutz.

Schreibe einen Kommentar