San Bartolomé – the center of Lanzarote

The municipality of San Bartolomé is located right in the middle of the island of Lanzarote and is often underestimated – despite the immense number of inhabitants and visitors. Guacimeta Airport is the most important “gateway to the island” in the municipal area. In 2019 alone, over seven million passengers used the airport. Added to this is Playa Honda, the second largest resident area on the island, with over 10,000 inhabitants. No wonder that you can find many good restaurants here.

The center of the municipality is the town of San Bartolomé, which is located way above the coast at approximately 240 meters above sea level. In the town center there are some interesting old buildings, such as the Casa Ajey, the Tanit Museum, the church Iglesia de San Martin and even a theater that regularly hosts events.

The only real tourist magnet is the Monumento al Campesino, created by César Manrique. A museum dedicated to agricultural workers with a striking sculpture, a very good restaurant and several workshops and shops selling handicrafts.

The wine region of Lanzarotes also starts from the Monumento al Campesino and the capital of the municipality is the seat of the local wine regulation authority. A third part of the total area of ​​the municipality of San Bartolomé is protected.

beach Playa Honda
the beach in Playa Honda

The liveliest place in the municipality is Playa Honda, located directly on the coast and in the immediate vicinity of the airport. The island’s first large shopping center was built here and the kilometer-long beach attracts residents and tourists. On the well-developed beach promenade you can walk to the capital Arrecife or along the airport area to Puerto del Carmen.

The historical name of the place is Ajey, and it is said that the place was built above the coast to be better protected from the pirate attacks that used to be common in the past. Today San Bartolomé is a quiet place where mainly locals live.

There is a large kart track between San Bartolomé and Playa Honda, which is used by many visitors. Above you can see the Montaña Mina wind farm. In the nearby town of Güime, many foreign residents have settled, large villas and high property prices are proof of the popularity. The other two towns belonging to the municipality are El Islote and Montaña Blanca. With less than 500 inhabitants, however, they are much smaller than the other places.

Leave a Reply

San Bartolomé – die Inselmitte

Die Gemeinde San Bartolomé liegt in der Mitte der Insel Lanzarote und wird trotz immenser Einwohner- und Besucherzahlen oft unterschätzt. Mit dem Flughafen Guacimeta liegt in San Bartolomé das wichtigste „Tor zur Insel“, allein im Jahr 2007 nutzten über 5,5 Millionen Passagiere den Flughafen. Hinzu kommt mit Playa Honda das zweitgrößte Residentengebiet der Insel, über 10.000 Einwohner zählt der Ort.

Zentrum der Gemeinde ist der Ort San Bartolomé, der etwas oberhalb der Küste auf ca. 240 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel liegt. Im Ortszentrum finden sich einige interessante alte Gebäude, wie das Casa Ajey, das Museum Tanit, die Kirche Iglesia de San Martin und sogar ein Theater, in dem regelmäßig Veranstaltungen angeboten werden.

Der einzige wirkliche Tourismusmagnet in San Bartolomé ist das von Cesar Manrique geschaffene Monumento al Campesino, ein den Landarbeitern gewidmetes Museum mit einer auffälligen Skulptur, einem sehr guten Restaurant und mehreren Werkstätten und Verkaufsläden für Kunsthandwerksartikel.

Vom Monumento al Campesino aus beginnt auch das Weingebiet Lanzarotes und San Bartolomé ist Sitz der lokalen Weinregulierungsbehörde. Gut ein Drittel der Gesamtfläche der Gemeinde San Bartolomé steht unter Naturschutz.

Der lebendigste Ort der Gemeinde San Bartolomé ist Playa Honda, direkt an der Küste gelegen und in direkter Nachbarschaft zum Flughafen. Hier wurde das erste große Einkaufszentrum der Insel errichtet und der kilometerlange Strand zieht Residenten und Touristen an. Über die gut ausgebaute Strand-Promenade kann man bis in die Hauptstadt Arrecife oder entlang des Flughafengebiets bis nach Puerto del Carmen spazieren.

Der historische Name des Ortes San Bartolomé lautet Ajey, und angeblich wurde der Ort oberhalb der Küste errichtet, um besser vor den früher üblichen Piratenangriffen geschützt zu sein. Heute ist San Bartolomé ein ruhiger Ort, indem nach wie vor hauptsächlich Einheimische leben.

Zwischen San Bartolomé und Playa Honda befindet sich eine große Kartbahn, die von Deutschen geführt wird. Oberhalb sieht man den Windenergiepark von Montaña Mina. Im nahe gelegenen Ort Güime haben sich viele ausländische Residenten sesshaft gemacht, große Villen und hohe Grundstückspreise zeugen von der Popularität. Die beiden weiteren zur Gemeinde San Bartolomé gehörenden Ortschaften heißen El Islote und Montaña Blanca. Mit unter 500 Einwohnern sind diese jedoch wesentlich kleiner als die anderen Orte.

Schreibe einen Kommentar